Schedule for *ad hoc* Limited Survey Team Marshall University Joan C. Edwards College of Medicine

June 23-25, 2013

Ad hoc survey team representing the LCME:

Ronald D. Franks, MD Vice President for Health Sciences University of South Alabama College of Medicine Mobile, AL ad hoc Team Chair Psychiatry

Robert B. Hash, MD, MBA LCME Assistant Secretary Chicago, IL ad hoc Team Secretary Family Medicine

LouAnn Woodward, MD

Emergency Medicine

Vice Dean & Associate Vice Chancellor for Health Affairs University of Mississippi School of Medicine Jackson, MS ad hoc Team Member

Team Hotel: Pullman Plaza Hotel 1001 3rd Ave

Huntington, WV 25701 (304) 525-1001

Sunday, June 23, 2013

5:00 - 6:00 PM	Team Caucus	Chair's suite
6:00 - 6:15	Meeting with President Stephen Kopp	Chair's suite
6:15 – 7:15	Deans' Perspective	Chair's suite
	Joseph Shapiro, MD Dean Marshall University Joan C Edwar	rds School of Medicine
7:30	Team Dinner	TBD

^{*}All meetings include all members of the ad hoc survey team unless otherwise noted

Monday, June 24, 2013

All meetings will be in G403-CME Large Conference Room unless otherwise noted.

7:20 AM Depart to Marshall University Joan C Edwards School of Medicine

(Hotel Lobby)

7:30 - 8:00 Team caucus and light breakfast

8:00- 9:00 Curriculum Committee

Rebecca Hayes Student, Class of 2014

John Seibert Student, Class of 2015

Paul Viscuse Student, Class of 2016

Nancy Norton, MD Asst. Professor of Pathology

Laura Richardson, PhD Asst. Professor of Anatomy, Cell & Neurobiology

Susan Jackman, PhD Prof of Biochemistry & Microbiology Elaine Hardman, PhD Prof of Biochemistry & Microbiology

Carl Gruetter, PhD Prof. of Pharmacology, Physiology & Toxicology Assoc. Prof. of Pharmacology, Physiology & Toxicology William McCumbee, PhD Prof. of Pharmacology, Physiology & Toxicology Assoc. Prof. of Pharmacology, Physiology & Toxicology Assoc. Prof. of Pharmacology, Physiology & Toxicology

Tigran Garabekyan, MD Asst. Prof. of Orthopaedic Surgery

Kelly Melvin, MD Asst. Prof. of Psychiatry & Behavioral Medicine

Farid Mozaffari, MD Asst. Prof. of Surgery

Dilip Nair, MD Prof. Family & Community Health

Bobby Miller, MD Assoc. Prof. of Pediatrics

Paul Ferguson, MD Asst. Prof. of Neuroscience; Director of Medical Education

Aaron McGuffin, MD Sr. Assoc. Dean for Student Medical Education Brian Dzwonek, EdD Associate Dean for Medical Student Education

9:00-9:15 Break

9:15- 10:15 IS-16 (diversity), ED-21 (cultural competence)

Shelvy Campbell, PhD Asst. Dean for Diversity

Marie Veitia, PhD Assoc, Dean for Student Affairs

Jennifer Plymale, MA

Associate Dean Admissions & Director of the Center for Rural Health

Cindy Warren, MA
Assistant Dean for Admissions & Student Affairs
Shari Clarke, PhD
V. P. Multicultural Affairs, Marshall University

Bobby Miller, MD Assoc. Professor Pediatrics

Amy Smith, BSN, MEd Assistant Director of Medical Education

Darshana Shah, PhD Assoc. Dean for Faculty Affairs & Professional Development

Debra Hart, BS Director of Equity Programs

10:15-10:30 Break

10:30-11:30 ED-5-A (active learning and independent study), ED-33 (curriculum management)

Paul Ferguson, MD Asst. Prof. of Neuroscience; Director of Medical Education

Bobby Miller, MD Assoc. Prof. of Pediatrics

Brian Dzwonek, EdD Associate Dean for Medical Student Education Carl Gruetter, PhD Prof. of Pharmacology, Physiology & Toxicology

Amy Smith, BSN, MEd Assistant Director of Medical Education

William McCumbee, PhD Prof. of Pharmacology, Physiology & Toxicology

Susan Jackman, PhD Prof of Biochemistry & Microbiology

Richard Egleton, PhD Assoc. Prof. of Pharmacology, Physiology & Toxicology

Maria Serrat, PhD Asst. Prof. of Anatomy & Pathology

Aaron McGuffin, MD Sr. Assoc. Dean for Student Medical Education

11:30 - 11:45 Break

11:45 – 1:15 Lunch with pre-clinical students

Jay Bronder Class of 2015 Chuck Davis Class of 2015 Carrie Cox Class of 2015 Jacob Hamm Class of 2015 James Buchanan Class of 2015 Audrey Dean Class of 2016 Matt Snyder Class of 2016 Warren Doyle Class of 2016 Alan Enjetti Class of 2016 Class of 2016 Haggar Ali

1:15 – 1:30 Break

1:30 – 2:45 MS-23 (financial aid and debt counseling), MS-24 (student educational debt)

Linda Holmes, MA Director of Development & Alumni Affairs Matt Straub, CPA, MBA Chief Financial Officer, Marshall Health

Joseph Werthammer, MD Senior Associate Dean for Clinical Affairs; Prof. of Pediatrics Prudy Barker, MA Assistant Director, Office of Student Financial Assistance

Ron Area, PhD CEO of the Marshall University Foundation Inc.

2:45 – 3:00 Break

3:00 – 4:15 FA-5 (scholarly productivity)

Richard Niles, PhD Professor of Biochemistry; Senior Assoc. Dean for Biomedical Sciences
Todd Gress, MD, MPH Asst. Dean of Clinical Research; Assoc. Prof. of Internal Medicine
Darshana Shah, PhD Assoc. Dean for Faculty Affairs & Professional Development
Associate Dean for Admissions & Director of Center for Rural Health

4:15 – 4:30 Team wrap up

4:30 Team transport to hotel

5:00 – 6:30 Team meeting Chair's suite

6:45 Team Dinner TBD

Tuesday June 25, 2013

7:45 Pick up Team from Pullman Plaza

8:15-9:15 IS-11 (administrative structure)

MS-37 (study and lounge space and secure storage)

ER-6 (resources for clinical instruction)

ER-9 (affiliation agreements)

Aaron McGuffin, MD Sr. Assoc. Dean for Student Medical Education

Marie Veitia, PhD Assoc. Dean for Student Affairs

Brian Dzwonek, EdD Assoc. Dean for Medical Student Education

Karen Bledsoe, MS Assoc. Dean for External Affairs

9:15 – 9:30 Break

9:30 – 10:30 **Meeting with Chairs**

Larry Dial, MD Department of Internal Medicine

Joseph Evans, MD Department of Pediatrics

David Jude, MD Department of Obstetrics & Gynecology

John Walden, MD Department of Family Medicine

John Walden, MD (Interim) Department of Psychiatry & Behavioral Medicine

David Denning, MD
Ali Oliashirazi, MD
Department of Surgery
Department of Orthopaedics
Michael Krasnow, MD
Department of Ophthalmology
Anthony Alberico, MD
Department of Neuroscience

Mark Studeny, MD Department of Cardiovascular Services
Linda Brown, MD Department of Anatomy & Pathology

Richard Niles, PhD Department of Biochemistry & Microbiology

Gary Rankin, PhD Department of Pharmacology, Physiology & Toxicology

10:30-10:45 Break

10:45-11:45 **MS-19** (career counseling)

MS-26 (personal counseling and well-being)

Marie Veitia, PhD Assoc. Dean for Student Affairs
Tracy LeGrow, PsyD Assoc. Dean for Academic Affairs
Amy Smith, BSN, MEd Assistant Director of Medical Education

Josh Hess, MD PGY-1 Medicine-Pediatrics

11:45- 12:00 Break

12:00-1:30 Lunch with Clinical Students

Michael Northcutt	Class of 2014
Josh Hendrix	Class of 2014
Doug von Allmen	Class of 2014
Deanna Jones	Class of 2014
Becca Hayes	Class of 2014
Don Bertolotti	Class of 2014
Corey Keeton	Class of 2014
Rachel Clarke	Class of 2014
Lora Fetty	Class of 2014
Sammy Hodroge	Class of 2014

1:30-2:30 Survey Team Meeting

2:30 Closing Meeting

Steve Kopp, PhD President Joseph Shapiro, MD Dean

LCME Steering Committee Chairs

Shelvy Campbell, PhD Asst. Dean for Diversity

Paul Ferguson, MD Asst. Prof. of Neuroscience; Director of Medical Education

Bobby Miller, MD Assoc. Prof. of Pediatrics
Marie Veitia, PhD Assoc. Dean for Student Affairs

Linda Holmes, MA

Director of Development & Alumni Affairs

Matt Straub, MPA

Chief Financial Officer, Marshall Health

Richard Niles, PhD Senior Associate Dean for Research & Graduate Education

Karen Bledsoe, MS Assoc. Dean for External Affairs

Aaron McGuffin, MD Sr. Assoc. Dean for Student Medical Education

3:00 Transport Team to Tri-State Airport